listen to the field of roots

From mid May to The 1st of October 2016, the Isidore Hurteau square of the Jacques Ferron Cultural Center in Longueuil hosted the visual and sound installation “Listen to the field of roots” which goal was to question the transmission of stories about roots form one generation to another.

 

This installation had three components: potato plants, interviews recorded with people passing by and garden benches. Twenty-four geofabric bags had been placed on each side of the alley which leads to the building of the Cultural Center, to highlight the main idea of the installation: the transmission is a crossing. At the border of the field, three listening booths were put to broadcast interviews of people describing their understanding of « roots » and of the ways to pass them on to the next generation. Garden benches had been placed around the listening booths. The benches had been painted with bright colors corresponding to the various potato varieties (yellow, orange, red and blue) and representing the space of listening and transmission from one space to another.

 

Many activities with citizens of Longueuil occurred during this project: planting tubercles, storytelling evening, potato crop during the Culture Days. This project was made possible thanks to the participation and financial support of the town of Longueuil.

Eugenia Reznik © 2020

écouter le champ des racines
De mi-mai au 1er octobre 2016, le carré Isidore Hurteau du centre culturel Jacques Ferron de Longueuil accueillait l’installation visuelle et sonore « Écouter le champ des racines » dont le but était de réfléchir sur la transmission intergénérationnelle des récits des racines.
Elle comprenait trois composantes : les plants de pommes de terre, les entrevues enregistrées auprès des passants et des bancs de jardin. Vingt-quatre sacs en géotextile ont été placés de chaque côté de l’allée qui mène vers le bâtiment du centre culturel, pour souligner l’idée principale de l’installation : transmission comme traversée. À la périphérie du champ, trois bornes d’écoute sont posées pour diffuser des entrevues des personnes décrivant leur compréhension de « racines » et des façons de les transmettre aux générations suivantes. Des bancs de jardin ont été placés autour des bornes d’écoute. Une intervention en peinture sur les bancs avec des couleurs vives correspondant aux variétés des pommes de terre plantées (jaune, orange, rouge et bleue) représentait l’espace d’écoute et de transmission du récit d’un espace à un autre.
Plusieurs activités impliquant des citoyens ont eu lieu tout au long du projet : la plantation des tubercules, soirée de contes, la récolte lors des Journées de la culture. Sa réalisation a été rendue possible grâce à la participation et au soutien financier de la ville de Longueuil.